Getting to Nepal and Visas

Unlike other countries, Nepal has made it easy for travelers to enter the country. You can enter Nepal by air at Tribhuvan International Airport (TIA) or through land at the Indian/Tibetan border. You can get a visa upon your arrival at the checkpoint or get it in your country. 

There are three ways to get a visa to enter Nepal:

  • Visa on Arrival at Tribhuvan International Airport
  • Visa on Arrival at the border if you’re entering via India or Tibet
  • Applying online at Nepal’s foreign consulates

Tourist visa fees

  • Multiple entries 15 Days USD 30 or equivalent to foreign currency
  • Multiple entries 30 Days USD 50 or equivalent to foreign currency
  • Multiple entries 90 Days USD 125 or equivalent to foreign currency

Visa for SAARC countries

  • A free visa for 30 days is available for tourists of SAARC countries.
  • Indian nationalities don’t need a visa to enter Nepal. However, you have to show your passport or an identity card issued by the Indian government while entering. Less than ten years Children no need to show identification.

Tourist Visa Extension

If you want to extend your visa for 15 days or less, then it costs USD 30 for the visa fee. After that, it will cost USD 3 per day. The tourist visa can be extended for a maximum of 150 days in a single visa year (January to December).

Transit Visa

If you have made Nepal a transit point while visiting another country, you will stay overnight at Tribhuvan International Airport (TIA). You have to have a valid plane ticket. In case you are forced to land at TIA due to any circumstances, a transit visa will be issued that costs USD 5.

*Note: To learn more about Nepalese visas, click here

Foreigners can apply for visas from the online portal, click here

Flights to Consider if you're traveling Nepal By Air

Nepal has International Air connections mainly in the following designated countries:

  • Nepal Airlines, the national flag carrier of Nepal:
  • Flights to and from Delhi to Kathmandu
  • Flights to and from Hong Kong to Kathmandu
  • Flights to and from Bangkok to Kathmandu
  • Flights to and from Singapore to Kathmandu via Bangkok
  • Flights to and from Osaka to Kathmandu via Shanghai
  • Flights to and from Bombay to Kathmandu
  • Flights to and from Dubai to Kathmandu
  • Flights to and from Osaka to Kathmandu
  • Flights to and from Kuala Lumpur to Kathmandu
  • Flights to and from Doha to Kathmandu

Other International airlines operating from and to Kathmandu are Qatar Airways (Doha), Turkish Airlines (Istanbul), Druk Air (Delhi, Paro), Etihad Airways (Abu Dhabi), Flydubai (Dubai), Air Arabia (Sharjah), Air Asia (Kuala Lumpur), Air China (Lhasa, Chengdu), ArkeFly (Amsterdam), Bahrain Air (Bahrain), Indian Airlines (Delhi, Kolkata, Varanasi), Indigo Airlines (Delhi), Jet Airways (Delhi, Mumbai), Jet Lite (Delhi), Biman Bangladesh (Dhaka), China Eastern Airlines (Kunming), China Southern Airlines (Guangzhou), Dragon Air (Hong Kong), GMG Airlines (Dhaka), Gulf Air (Bahrain), Korean Air (Seoul), Pakistan International Airlines (Karachi, Islamabad), RAK Air (Ras al- Khaimah), Silk Air (Singapore), Spicejet (Delhi), Thai Airways (Bangkok)and United Airways (Dhaka).

Entry points to consider if you are traveling Nepal By road

You can enter Nepal from India and China (Tibet only). Following are the borders you can use to enter:

  • Birgunj, in Parsa in the Nepal-India border (Central Nepal)
  • Jamuna, in Nepalgunj-Banke in the Nepal-India border (Mid-western Nepal)
  • Kakarvitta, in Jhapa in the Nepal-India border (Eastern border)
  • Belhiya, Bhairahawa-Rupandehi, in the Nepal-India border (Western-Nepal)
  • Mohana, Dhangadhi-Kailali in the Nepal-India border (Far western Nepal)
  • Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar-Kanchanpur, in the Nepal-India border (Far-western Nepal)
  • Kodari, in Sindhupalchowk in the Nepal-China border (northern border)

All foreign nationals except Indians must have a visa. Get your visa at Nepali embassies and consulates overseas or upon your arrival at the entry point. The visa is valid for entry three to six months from the date of issue. 

Citizens of South Asian countries and China need visas, but these are free. Also, citizens of Liberia, Ethiopia, Iraq, Palestine, Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, Swaziland, Cameroon, and Somalia cannot get the visa at the entry points